...the Voice of the Trucking Industry Since 1939. Sunday 04, Dec 2016   

2016 LMTA Truck Driving Championships

Photos link:    http://www.johnballance.net/f849507985

The 2016 Louisiana Motor Transport Association (LMTA) Truck Driving Championships were held in Baton Rouge, Louisiana on March 18-19.  108 drivers totaling approximately 175 million accident free miles participated in this year’s event.  

There were nine classes of competition in the LMTA competition:  Step-Van, Straight Truck, 3-Axle Van, 4-Axle Van, 5-Axle Van, 5-Axle Tank, 5-Axle Flatbed, 5-Axle Sleeper Berth and Twin-Trailers.  Trophies were awarded to the First, Second and Third Place winners in each class as listed below.  Also awarded during the competition was a Mechanics Award, Rookie of the Year Award, Team Award, and overall Grand Champion.   

All first place winners will represent LMTA and the state of Louisiana in the 2016 ATA National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis, IN on August 9th – 13th, 2016.   

Winners of the LMTA competition were as follows: 

Straight Truck 

1st Place                     Corey Mitchell                      Shreveport                FedEx Freight 

2nd Place                    Jeffery Trim                          Baton Rouge            FedEx Ground 

3rd Place                    David Walker                        Hodge                        Hercules Transport                                                                                

3 Axle Van

1st Place                     Joseph Brown                      Zachary                     FedEx Freight 

2nd Place                    Chris Hall                             Shreveport                FedEx Freight 

3rd Place                    Leroy Williams                     Zachary                     XPO Logistics            

 4 Axle Van 

1st Place                     Xavier Theriot                       Shreveport             FedEx Freight 

2nd Place                    Jordan Beni                          Marion                    Brookshire Grocery 

3rd Place                    Todd Watson            Baker                                    FedEx Freight           

5 Axle Van

1st Place                     Louis Scaruffi                       Kenner                       C & S Grocers 

2nd Place                    Calvin Cannon                    Springfield                C & S Grocers 

3rd Place                    Larry Peltier, Jr.                    Brusly                      Martin Brower 

 5 Axle Tank

1st Place                     Kyle Mitchell                         Baton Rouge         FedEx Freight

2nd Place                    Gary Tyler                              Monroe                 Brookshire Grocery 

3rd Place                    Mickey St. Andrie                 Oakdale                 Quality Transport      

 5 Axle Flatbed

1st Place                     Curtis McMellon                   Calhoun                  XPO Logistics 

2nd Place                    Joseph Vital                          Port Allen                FedEx Freight 

3rd Place                    Henry Cockerham               Denham Springs     UPS Freight


1st Place                     Mark Judson                         Maurice                    FedEx Freight 

2nd Place                    Damien Hebert                     Lafayette                  XPO Logistics

3rd Place                    Richard Gibbs                      Shreveport                FedEx Freight 


1st Place                     Eric Courville                       Breaux Bridge          FedEx Freight 

2nd Place                    Chad Rudesill                      Tickfaw                      FedEx Ground 

3rd Place                    Darrell Robichaux               Metairie                     AAA Cooper 

 Step Van                              

1st Place                     Cheramie Courville-Finnan    Breaux Bridge     FedEx Ground

2nd Place                    Andrea Nixon                       Port Allen                  FedEx Ground 

3rd Place                    Randy Guillory                     Lake Charles             FedEx Ground

Mechanics Award:            

                            Alfred Wire                     Covington                C & S Grocers 

Rookie of the Year:           

                           Jordan Beni                    Marion              Brookshire Grocery                       

Team Trophy:                    

                          Walmart Stores, Opelousas                 

Grand Champion:             

                          Eric Courville                  Breaux Bridge         FedEx Freight

Also honored were the 2015 LMTA Driver of the Year:

The 2016 LMTA Driver of the Year is an award presented to the outstanding professional driver based on their background, number of accident free driving years, and years experience who has performed an outstanding deed of heroism or highway courtesy, made an outstanding contribution to highway safety, and/or has a long record of safe and courteous driving.  This year’s award was presented to Henry Bruster, UPS Freight, Port Allen, LA.


Among those honored were the 2015 Great West Casualty Fleet Safety Award winners.  The Great West Casualty Fleet Safety Awards recognize companies with outstanding safety records in various mileage categories in Louisiana.  Additionally, awards were presented to the company with the greatest improved safety record for 2015 compared to 2014 and the President’s Trophy for the company with the overall best record from all categories.  The 2015 Great West Fleet Safety Award winners for Louisiana, based on miles traveled in Louisiana, were:

 Under 1,000,000 Miles:                              Arabie Trucking Services, LLC

 1,000,001 – 3,000,000 Miles:                  Brookshire Grocery Company

                                                                                  C & S Wholesale Services, Inc.

                                                                                  Groendyke Transport, Inc.

6,000,001 – 9,000,000 Miles:                  Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.

                                                                                  YRC Freight

9,000,001 – 12,000,000 Miles:                 Dupre’ Logistics, LLC – Site Logistics

                                                                                  ELTM, L.P.

                                                                                  Quality Transport, Inc.

12,000,001 – 20,000,000 Miles:             Walmart Stores, Inc.

 Most Improved:                                             AAA Cooper Transportation

President’s Trophy:                                     Walmart Stores, Inc.

                                                                                  12,000,001 – 20,000,000 Miles


Future TDC Dates

2017: March 24-25

2018:  March 23-24

2019: March 29-30

Renaissance Hotel * Blue Bayou Waterpark


Louisiana Motor Transport Association, Inc.
4838 Bennington Avenue | P.O. Box 80278 | Baton Rouge, LA 70898
Phone: 225-928-5682 | Fax: 225-928-0500